The U.S. government makes approximately 140,000 immigrant visas available each fiscal year to foreign workers and their family members who are willing to immigrate to the U.S. based on their employment. These immigrant visa numbers are spread across five permanent residence employment categories, with monthly and per-country allotments.

Employment Based First Preference (EB-1)

This is the top permanent residence category that includes extraordinary ability workers, outstanding professors and researchers, and multinational manager and executive transfers. Because it is the top category, there are…read on

Employment Based Second Preference (EB-2)

The EB-2 category is reserved for workers who are advanced degree professionals or possess exceptional abilities. Nationals of India, China whose cases are classified in the EB-2 category are currently…read on

I-140 Employment Classification Petitions

The I-140 immigrant classification petition is the second step in the employment permanent residence process through labor certification. At this stage of the process the employer files an immigrant petition…read on

Employment Based Fourth Preference (EB-4)

The four preference category special immigrants, including religious workers, Iraqi and Afghan translators, Iraqi nationals who have assisted the United States, and international organization employees. Ministers and non-ministers in religious…read on

Employment Based Fifth Preference (EB-5)

The Immigrant Investor Program, also known as EB-5 was created to stimulate the U.S. economy through job creation and capital investment by foreign investors. Under a pilot immigration, certain EB-5…read on